wedding venue country house funeral celebration of life service
High Well Hill Lane
Tel: 01226 781028
The story of Hodroyd Hall and its inhabitants reflects the broad tapestry of our regional and national history. There has been a house on the site of Hodroyd Hall from the 1100s when records show that the land was owned by Sir John de Hoderode, steward at Pontefract Castle. After the dissolution of the monasteries the house was acquired by Sir Thomas Gargrave, Speaker of the House Commons in Queen Elizabeth’s first Parliament in 1559.
According to local legend, Oliver Cromwell stayed at Hodroyd during the Civil War as a patient of the Hall’s owner, Dr. Richard Berrie, one of history’s lesser-known but certainly colourful characters.
From the 1680s, the house was in the ownership of the Monckton family, who in 1726 became the Viscounts of Galway.
The Hodroyd Estate was sold by the Moncktons in 1911 and during the 20th century the house was a working men’s club, a convent, a military hospital and offices for the National Coal Board.
In 2017, Hodroyd Hall was acquired by Stephen Aviss, an Opera Singer, and his family. Following an extensive renovation of the property, the Hall opened for a limited number of events in 2021.